Skip to main content

MelroseWakefield Hospital Named Level III Trauma Center

January 2, 2024

Level III trauma center will save valuable time in getting local trauma patients the high-level critical care they need

Melrose, Massachusetts – MelroseWakefield Hospital has been designated as a Level III Trauma Center by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. This distinction is the culmination of many months of preparation by multiple teams across the hospital to improve best practices leading to better patient outcomes in providing this level of critical care.

Level III Trauma Centers have a team of trauma physicians and nurses available to assess the patient upon arrival.  The goal of the trauma system is to decrease injured patients’ time to care by making sure their medical needs are appropriately matched with hospital resources. For a severely injured person, the time between sustaining an injury and receiving definitive care is the most important predictor of survival. The chance of survival diminishes with time; however, a trauma system enhances the chance of survival regardless of proximity to an urban trauma hospital. MelroseWakefield Hospital’s location in North Suburban Boston could save valuable ambulance travel time for trauma patients who would otherwise be brought to downtown Boston hospitals.

MelroseWakefield Hospital staff voluntarily participated in the intense verification process by the American College of Surgeons which included an outside review of the hospital’s resources and capabilities to care for trauma patients. The MelroseWakefield Hospital team met standards of commitment, clinical and equipment resources and staff training and were recommended for certification after finding zero non-compliant standards that needed to be addressed.

“Level III Trauma designation will help us support our patients with higher levels of care so we can continue to serve our growing communities,” said Kelly Corbi, MBA, President of MelroseWakefield Hospital and Lawrence Memorial Hospital and Executive Vice President at Tufts Medicine. “We congratulate our trauma team for this significant achievement. Trauma III status recognizes that MelroseWakefield Hospital provides the expertise, teamwork, and facilities necessary to treat a higher level of injuries than ever before. This is another example of our dedication to providing quality health care.”

“MelroseWakefield Hospital takes great pride in our commitment to providing outstanding care for all who come through our doors and access to board certified trauma surgeons 24/7/365 significantly improves our capability to provide high quality care for patients in emergency situations as a result of trauma,” said Matthew Brown, M.D., Trauma Medical Director and Chair, Department of Surgery at MelroseWakefield Hospital. “This designation represents our ongoing commitment to ensuring the community receives necessary trauma evaluation and treatment as quickly as possible.”

“We are dedicated to providing high level care to members of our community across the region,” says Jeanna Barbieri, RN, CEN, TCRN, Trauma Program Manager at MelroseWakefield Hospital. “The Level III designation gives patients and their families a greater opportunity to stay local while they receive care for traumatic injuries. For those requiring tertiary levels of care, we work closely with Tufts Medical Center to ensure prompt transfer and continuity of care.”


# # #

About Tufts Medicine MelroseWakefield Hospital and Lawrence Memorial Hospital of Medford
MelroseWakefield Hospital and Lawrence Memorial Hospital provide high-quality, community-based care. Our two hospitals, Breast Health Center, Cardiovascular Center and over 20 locations offer and wide range of services and over 50 specialties to Melrose and the surrounding communities just north of Boston. MelroseWakefield Hospital is a certified level III trauma center.

Press Releases
Wellforce Announces Name Change to Tufts Medicine
March 1, 2022
Press Releases
Emergency Department Receives Highest-Level Accreditation for Care of Older Adults
February 1, 2019
Tufts Medical Center announced today that its Emergency Department (ED) has received Level 1 Geriatric Emergency Department Accreditation (GEDA) from the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), recognizing the highest level of excellence in care for older adults.
Press Releases
Community Support Grants
June 22, 2021
Tufts MC Pledges $700,000 in Grants to Support Community Organizations’ Economic Mobility and Stability Efforts

Be among the first to know

Enjoy the latest health updates from Tufts Medicine by signing up for our e-newsletter today.

Jump back to top